"After years of hard work, I'm very pleased the Illinois Senate has come together to pass reasonable concealed-carry legislation that allows law-abiding citizens to exercise their constitutional rights," Sullivan said.
House Bill 183 states that the Illinois State Police shall issue a concealed-carry license to any qualified applicant. A qualified applicant must be at least 21 years old, have a valid FOID card, not have a history of violent crime and undergo a fingerprint and background check.
The legislation restricts carrying a firearm in certain public areas — such as schools, hospitals, colleges, bars, casinos and other government buildings. Private businesses may also prohibit firearms by posting a sign.
House Bill 183 creates a "safe harbor" that allows a licensed person to transport a firearm in his or her vehicle and store it there when entering a restricted area.
The license fee is $150 and is valid for five years. Applicants must undergo 16 hours of training — both in the classroom and on a firing range. It would also be illegal to carry while intoxicated.
The House voted 89-28 passing the same bill Friday, sending concealed carry to the governor.